Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis – Forgot to Pray For

by Esther Elizabeth Suson

The title attempts to mimic posts 1, 2, and 3 entitled Too Small To Pray For? Besides realizing that the titles absolutely did not help anyone who wanted to know what the blogs were about, this case was similar-not similar.

I did not think Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis too small a gift to pray for. I simply forgot about praying about it – it’s been years literally since I looked actively for it. (In secondhand bookshops, you understand, where the searching is more fun and not always so rewarding).

During our Budo Club (the UA&P martial arts club) Christmas party, we had our traditional exchange gifts. (Very neat – I love how we’re not obliged to get everyone something, but everyone still gets something. Enough tangents). The gifts flew with no ceremony, no order, and no “describe the person first.”

And then, someone reached over the table and handed me what could only have been a gift paper-wrapped book. “Here Ate Esther.” Oh good,  I thought. She paid attention to my wish list. At least, to the part pertaining to books/notebooks/pens and not to the  part on socks.

I slipped (read: ripped) the gift wrap off, and there it was right in front of me: Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis. I literally hugged the book to my chest and thanked her more times than I can remember.

Of all the books I have ever seen random quotes from, this is the one I wanted the most. After drinking in Lee Strobel books like crazy, I wanted this one, this one that goes over and under the physical evidence and walks through the philosophical and spiritual. And God literally dropped it into my lap through the hands of a fellow aikidoka (Aikido practitioner). His generosity simply takes my breath away.

I suppose this is one of the times God said “Wait” instead of “Yes” or “No”! But like all God-timed events, it was worth the wait.

One thought on “Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis – Forgot to Pray For

What are you thinking?

